Forum archive 2000-2006

Eugene (Bud) Boman - First attempt at installing and configuring WW 2.1

Eugene (Bud) Boman - First attempt at installing and configuring WW 2.1

by Arnold Pizer -
Number of replies: 0
inactiveTopicFirst attempt at installing and configuring WW 2.1 topic started 7/11/2005; 2:51:28 PM
last post 7/13/2005; 3:53:24 PM
userEugene (Bud) Boman - First attempt at installing and configuring WW 2.1  blueArrow
7/11/2005; 2:51:28 PM (reads: 905, responses: 4)
Hi,

I'm trying to upgrade from WW 1.9 to WW 2.1. I have previously install WW 1.8 and 1.9 but this is my first attempt at any version of webwork2. Just to make sure there was nothing old lying around to get in the way I repartitioned and reformatted the disks and rebuilt the OS (Debian Linux 3.1, 'sarge' distribution) from the ground up.

I then started following the directions at

http://devel.webwork.rochester.edu/twiki/bin/view/Webwork/InstallationManualV2pt1

I downloaded the tarballs as directed (webwork-2.1.3.tar.gz and pg-3.1.3.tar.gz) and opened them up in /opt/webwork2 and /opt/pg. Since most of the supporting software is available as a Debian package I used

# apt-get install <package-name>

to install the Debian packages and

# perl -MCPAN -e "install Module"

to install the perl modules that don't exist as Debian packages. All seemed to go well until I checked the installation using 'check_modules.pl'. It complained that the module SOAP::Lite was missing so I installed it like the other perl modules. I didn't see anything in the prior documentation about SOAP::Lite but perhaps I just missed it. If it isn't there I suggest that the installation page be modified to include it. (Not a big deal. Anyone with a clue can see what to do here, but I like Webwork a lot and I'd like to see it spread far and wide. Unfortunately, that means including the clueless (:-)

After that again all seemed to go well until I started reconfiguring Apache. I modified the /server-info stanza as follows: