Installation

Email System Stopped Working

Email System Stopped Working

by Jim Fischer -
Number of replies: 6
WebWork 2.7

Our email system stopped working, it was working fine 24 hours ago. The problem is in both directions: (student ----> Instructor) and (Instructor ----> Students)

Maybe its a server issue or school email problem, but I would like to do some checking if I can. The school email seems to be functioning fine as I can send and receive. Are there some things I can do to determine where the fault is? I do have sudo access to the server, but I'm fairly new to server and WW maintenance.

The error we get is:

"Failed to open the mailer: connect() failed: Connection timed out"

Our ITS person, suggested we try the following and it did not have any affect:

sudo /etc/init.d/dns-clean restart

In reply to Jim Fischer

Re: Email System Stopped Working

by Danny Glin -
In my experience this is often caused by the sendmail daemon dying (assuming that's what your server is using for sending mail).

Try:
sudo service sendmail status

which should tell you if sendmail is running.  If it gives you an error, or tells you that sendmail is not running, do:
sudo service sendmail restart

Hope this helps.

Danny
In reply to Danny Glin

by Jim Fischer -
Thanks for the suggestion

I guess our server is not running this for sending mail. I got " unrecognized service" when checking status

In reply to Jim Fischer

by Bill Sadvary -
Sounds your server isn't "seeing" the mail server.  From your server, try TELNETing  to the mail server.

$ telnet yourmailserver.domain.edu 25

If you don't get connected, it may be a firewall issue either on yours or their end.

If you do connect, just type quit to get out and you've ruled out a connectivity issue.

You may have to install the telnet app, if not already installed. 
In reply to Bill Sadvary

by Lars Jensen -
Hi Jim,