Installation

WebWork on AWS

WebWork on AWS

by Eric Gilson -
Number of replies: 10
I recently installed WebWork on an AWS t2.micro instance. I used the Ubuntu 14.04 image and then followed the WebWork 2.10 installation guide on the Wiki. My course is up an running, but I am having a major issue: the server times out a lot, under relatively light loads. Simply having 10 students log in simultaneously in class taxed the server to the point that it would take minutes to respond to their requests, if it responded at all.

As I am very new to running a server, I am not sure where to begin in trouble shooting this. My guesses are 1) I need to change my Apache server settings, 2) Amazon is throttling the traffic, 3) a t2.micro instance is too small. I really don't know how to figure out which is the issue, or if it is something else.

Any thoughts on where to begin or what to look at would be greatly appreciated.
In reply to Eric Gilson

Re: WebWork on AWS

by Michael Gage -
Hi Eric,
I haven't used these myself but the consensus seems to be that the t2.micro instance is too small, specifically with respect to RAM.  One should have at least 2Gig of RAM and probably 4Gig is better in order to run WeBWorK.  Even then you should severely limit the number of children (clients) that the webserver can create so that you don't create more child applications than can be fit into RAM simultaneously.  (Too many children and there is serious thrashing as the applications are transferred from RAM to hard disk and back. )

Hope that helps.

Take care,

Mike

In reply to Michael Gage

by Eric Gilson -
Mike,