Miscellaneous

I am completely lost

I am completely lost

by Wei Pin Wong -
Number of replies: 7
Hi,
I am new to WeBWork and I am a bit overwhelmed by the information provided as I am not a computer sage guy. Is there an instruction manual for dummies starting from zero? I am teaching a calculus course this summer and I would like to try out WeBWork as an online homework platform for my students. I learned that the easiest way is to use the limited free trail MAA WeBWork hosting. I have registered for the limited free trial but I do not received any confirmation email? Is that normal or I did something wrong? If I did it right, how long do I have to wait in order to get the approval? Once I get the approval, do I have to install anything in order to use WeBWork for my course? Many thanks in advance. 
Thank you.   
In reply to Wei Pin Wong

Re: I am completely lost

by Michael Gage -
I see your request to sign up for wiki and forum access (which you now have). 

I also see your request in the queue (after searching twice) with a posting date of April 29.   It might take a few work days before Simon Park at MAA is able to fulfill your request, particularly this time of year.

The root of the wiki for new instructors is this page:  http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/Instructors
which has many helpful links. You don't have to follow all of them immediately. :-)

A tutorial "A day in the life of a WeBWorK instructor" might be out of date in a few places but it is very helpful for getting started.

Remember that the wiki is somewhat like the web in general -- searching for information via key words often beats clicking through structured sites.  

In the left margin there are two search boxes -- one labeled search and directly under it another option "Google: WW search" for performing a wider google search which includes forum posts.