WeBWorK Problems

Symbolic pi and function evaluations

Symbolic pi and function evaluations

by Ryan Hass -
Number of replies: 5
I'm new to WeBWorK and I'd like some guidance in writing a problem.  I would like to evaluate a function a particular point p.  The point p is to be expressed in terms of pi, say pi / 4, and the answer to the problem computed in terms of p.

From there, I would like to display the question as follows:

Find f(p) = [______]
or
Find sin(p) = [______]

where p is displayed as its exact value, \frac {\pi} 4, and not as a decimal

I understand how I could solve this problem if I wrote out everything explicitly, but I would like the code to be robust enough to let me define p at the beginning and have the rest of the code remain unchanged.

My current solution displays the point p as decimal and I cannot figure out how to replace sin(x) with sin(p) without computing sin(p) directly.  Can anyone offer any advice?  

###########################
#  Initialization

DOCUMENT();

loadMacros(
"PGstandard.pl",
"MathObjects.pl",
"contextFraction.pl",
"AnswerFormatHelp.pl",
"PGML.pl",
"PGcourse.pl",
);

TEXT(beginproblem());

$showPartialCorrectAnswers = 1;

#  Setup

Context("Numeric");
$f = Formula("sin(x)");
$p = PI();

$answer = $f -> eval(x => $p);
$point = $f -> substitute(x => $p);

Context()->functions->disable("Trig");

#  Main text

BEGIN_PGML
Let [` f(x) = [$f] `].  

Then
[`f([$p])`] = [_______________]{$answer->cmp()}

[`[$point]`] = [_______________]{$answer->cmp()}

END_PGML

ENDDOCUMENT();
In reply to Ryan Hass

Re: Symbolic pi and function evaluations

by Alex Jordan -
Try this. Some explanatory comments embedded.

DOCUMENT();

loadMacros(
"PGstandard.pl",
"PGML.pl",
);

Context("Numeric");
#Make it so Formula objects don't turn pi into 3.14..., nor pi/2 into 1.57...
Context()->flags->set(reduceConstants=>0);
#For good measure, make it so Formula objects don't turn sin(1) into 0.84..., nor sqrt(2) into 1.41...