WeBWorK Main Forum

Updating WebWork and/or Switching from the NPL to the OPL mid-semester

Updating WebWork and/or Switching from the NPL to the OPL mid-semester

by James Mc Laughlin -
Number of replies: 3
I am a mathematics professor who uses WebWork a lot in my lower level mathematics courses.

I just found out that Webwork here at my University has not been updated since 2011 (I am assuming this from the copyright notice on WebWork pages: WeBWorK © 1996-2011) .
Since WebWork has not been updated in 6 years, we have access to only ~16,900 problems on the old National Problem Library (NPL), whereas I read that the new Open Problem Library (OPL) has around 35000 problems.
The person who set Webwork up, who is in another department (I am in the mathematics department here), has pretty much lost all interest in updating and maintaining Webwork, so we are going to have to involve the University IT people to upgrade WebWork and install the OPL to replace the NPL.
One major concern that has been raised is that upgrading WebWork and/or installing the OPL might destroy individual course shells that belong to particular instructors.
Another is that if the NPL is upgraded to the OPL, then existing homework sets would no longer function?
Can anyone who knows the answers, or has dealt with a similar situation please advise about these two issues?

Are these (updating WebWork and replacing the NPL with the OPL) dangerous/difficult things to attempt mid-semester, and should they be left off until between semesters when no one is actively running WebWork for a course, or is it fine to make these changes mid-semester?

Unfortunately I myself do not understand the code for installing the open library so what I was intending was to direct our IT people to this page for instructions on installing the OPL:
http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/Open_Problem_Library#Installing_the_OPL