Miscellaneous

loading times out, no pics

loading times out, no pics

by J D'Ambroise -
Number of replies: 8
We have webwork up and running. Students have completed their first homework.
I am completely new to running the backend of webwork. We have a dedicated server.
I have 20 students and I am the only one using webwork on my campus.

We have a few loading issues. Sometimes the whole page will not load -- there is no error, just times out. Then 10 mins later it seems to work if you wait long enough and keep trying.

Today I have the separate issue of the page loading but *pictures* not loading. This was happening on 3 different devices at once so I am sure it is not one individual computer. We also tested it on 3 different connections.

The pdf generator to print sets is also not working. Pressing the button times out... will not load. No error .... just times out.

Thanks for any possible help! I am a complete newbie.
In reply to J D'Ambroise

Re: loading times out, no pics

by Arnold Pizer -
Hi,

It's very strange that any server would not be able to handle the load from 20 students unless possibly you are using WeBWorK in class and all students are accessing it simultaneously. That being said have you looked at e.g. http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/Installation_Manual_for_2.13_on_Ubuntu_16.04#Configuring_Apache
(especially MaxRequestWorkers and MaxConnectionsPerChild) and set up Apache accordingly. That would be the first thing I would check.

Arnie
In reply to J D'Ambroise

by J D'Ambroise -
I have a possible lead:

If you click on an image, in the url once you remove the :8443 from the url you are then able to view the image. The error might lie in the webwork config.

Now I am trying to figure out what to change in the webwork config.
In reply to J D'Ambroise

by J D'Ambroise -
Dynamically generated pics, static pics, math equations and hard copy are all not working.