WeBWorK Problems

Weird behavior of matrix evaluation

Weird behavior of matrix evaluation

by Robert Mařík -
Number of replies: 9

Hello.

I am new in WeBWorK and tried to write exercise on matrix. See the attached file. One zip file with pg on matrix sum. It works. However, if I enter an expression in x rather than a number and click preview, I get the message that there is something wrong and the student should email the teacher. See the printscreens in the same zip file.

Is this intended behavior? Or is it possible to enhance the code of the question somehow?

With best regards

Robert Marik

In reply to Robert Mařík

Re: Weird behavior of matrix evaluation

by Davide Cervone -

Your problem works as expected for me. I get an appropriate error message in the results table indication that the entry is not a number but a formula.

What version of WeBWorK and PG are you using?

Attachment ww.png
In reply to Davide Cervone

by Robert Mařík -
Hello. Thank you for the answer. I use ww_version: 2.15 | pg_version 2.15 .
Also works for me if I submit the answer. The error message appears only if I click Preview. I fear that students will be disturbed by such a message.

Anyway thank you for confirmation that the question is OK.

Robert
In reply to Robert Mařík

by Glenn Rice -

I am seeing this also.  I have tested on both webwork 2.15 and the develop branch.  I haven't tested earlier versions of webwork.  It only happens when you click "Preview My Answers" and not with "Submit Answers" or "Check Answers".  This is clearly a bug.  I have not been able to determine where the bug is occurring yet though.

In reply to Robert Mařík

by Davide Cervone -
Sorry, I didn't realize it was only for previewing. I will check further.
In reply to Davide Cervone

by Glenn Rice -