WeBWorK Main Forum

Testing new problems

Testing new problems

by Lijuan Cao -
Number of replies: 8

Hello, 

I am new to WeBWork and I am working on building questions and homework sets for my discrete math class next semester. I was able to make some new problems and added them to my homework sets. The problems worked fine on my end. But since I used a lot of randomization, I want to find out if there is a way to test them more extensively. 

Also, I want to ask if there is a way to turn off the equation editor and hide the pencil next to the answer blocks. Thank you.

In reply to Lijuan Cao

Re: Testing new problems

by Gavin LaRose -
Hi Lijuan,
The idea of a robust problem tester has been floated for quite a long time, but to my knowledge there isn't one in existence. The two things that I do routinely to test whether randomization is going to cause trouble with some versions of the problems are to try them systematically with the different possible randomizations, e.g., by setting variable values to subsequent values in the allowed randomization ($n = random(1,5,1); $n = 1;); and to simply force different randomizations by inserting additional random calls at the top of the problem file.

I expect that you can turn off the equation editor in Course Configuration -> PG - Problem Display/Answer Checking.

Gavin
In reply to Gavin LaRose

by Lijuan Cao -
Hi Gavin,

Thanks for your reply. I will test the problems using your method.

I was able to turn off the equation editor but for some reason I still see the pencil next to the answer box, as can be seen from the picture below. Is there a way to turn off the pencil too?  

Pencil

Lijuan
In reply to Lijuan Cao

by Glenn Rice -

As far as I know the pencil picture is not put in by any of the answer entry assist methods provided by webwork.  Do you have some other javascript injected into the page (by an extension or something), or something else occurring on your server that might be doing this?