WeBWorK Problems

Disable MathQuill in a single problem or answer blank?

Disable MathQuill in a single problem or answer blank?

by Paul Seeburger -
Number of replies: 5

I am new to using MathQuill with my Problem Sets, and the strange messages that sometimes are produced for some problems is causing some confusion.

How can I disable MathQuill on particular problems or for particular answer blanks?

Thanks!

Paul

In reply to Paul Seeburger

Re: Disable MathQuill in a single problem or answer blank?

by Alex Jordan -

I don't believe this can be done in the current versions of WeBWorK. It can be turned on/off at the level of a config file, which is loaded before anything in the problem code is processed.

In the situations I know of where MathQuill causes issues, using the MathQuill text entry mode gets past the issues. For example, if the answer is "2 m/s", MathQuill will make it look like \frac{2m}{s} and it will turn the submitted answer into "(2m)/s", which WW's unit parser will not understand. But if you click the MathQuill "Tt" (or pres the " character on your keyboard) then MathQuill allows you to type text that will not be altered upon submission.

So if you get students to be aware of this, it can work. In the extreme, you could print a message in the problem telling students to do this for the answers to that problem. The message can be conditioned upon whether or not MathQuill is in use:

TEXT('Push the "Tt" button before typing your answer.') if $entryAssist eq 'MathQuill';

or in PGML:

[@ 'Push the "Tt" button before typing your answer.' if $entryAssist eq 'MathQuill';@]

You could probably find a way to display a message like this for all problems that are in a particular set. If the set's name is "MySet", then the environment variable $setNumber carries that. So one idea is you could modify the beginproblem() subroutine in PGbasicmacros to print the message conditionally on the $setNumber.

In reply to Alex Jordan

by Sean Fitzpatrick -