WeBWorK Main Forum

WeBWorK says student's answer is correct but gives 0 points and didn't save answer

WeBWorK says student's answer is correct but gives 0 points and didn't save answer

by Sarah Weatherman -
Number of replies: 8

Conflicting correctness information on student's answer

The student's Entered answer matches the Answer Preview, and the Result is correct, but the student got 0 points for this problem, and it is marked as incorrect in the list of Problems on the left.

I looked at the student's responses in the problem set, and I could see the answers they entered for the other problems, but not this one. The answer for this one is blank, though there is a timestamp for when the answer was entered.

How can this be fixed? What could cause this?

Thanks for any help, and let me know if there is any more information that could be useful. I'm pretty new to WeBWorK and don't use it myself, so I have limited familiarity with it outside of creating courses. 

In reply to Sarah Weatherman

Re: WeBWorK says student's answer is correct but gives 0 points and didn't save answer

by Alex Jordan -

Note in the screen shot how there is a "Check Answers" button but no "Submit Answers" button. This most likely means that it is past the homework set's close date. It is past the the time when students can earn credit. But they can still type in answers to see if they are right or not using "Check Answers".

In reply to Alex Jordan

Re: WeBWorK says student's answer is correct but gives 0 points and didn't save answer

by Sarah Weatherman -

But other students were able to submit answers after this student, and this student was able to submit answers to the other problems in this problem set after this. Is it possible to have a different close date for one problem in a set for one student? If so, where would one go to see/edit it?

by Alex Jordan -