WeBWorK Problems

Getting answer text from new_checkbox_multiple_choice

Getting answer text from new_checkbox_multiple_choice

by Todd Clements -
Number of replies: 3

Hello everyone -

I am relatively new to Webwork (and a Chemist rather than a mathematician). I am designing a series of chemistry problems with significant student feedback and have written a lot of custom code to do so. It works great for numerical problems (I check for common mistakes and give students detailed feedback about what mistake they made and how to fix it, and a chance to try again). For various reasons I am not using AnswerHints, but my own code.

My difficulty is when I have multiple select problems (and would have the same problem with multiple choice problems). I can set them up and get them to run. I am currently using new_checkbox_multiple_choice to generate the multiple select problems and then print_q() and print_a() to display them to the student. When the student submits their answer and I look at it to generate my hints, it only tells me (for example) that the student answered "ACF" and that the correct answer is "ABF".

However, in order to give students good feedback, I need to know what the text of each answer is. If they answered C but weren't supposed to, I need to know that C was "electrons" so I can put in that feedback and talk about why electrons wasn't a good answer. Since new_checkbox_multiple_choice randomizes the order of answers (and I want to keep that functionality), I haven't figured out how to know what answer C is. I could parse the text from print_a() but that has all the formatting information in it and I was hoping there was a more direct route.

Thanks for any insights!

Cheers,
Todd

In reply to Todd Clements

Re: Getting answer text from new_checkbox_multiple_choice

by Glenn Rice -

Unfortunately, at this point the only way to see the what the letters mean is to open the student's problem and look at it.