Forum archive 2000-2006

Michael Hamm - multiples of a vector

Michael Hamm - multiples of a vector

by Arnold Pizer -
Number of replies: 0
inactiveTopicmultiples of a vector topic started 9/12/2006; 12:05:54 PM
last post 9/13/2006; 7:39:31 PM
userMichael Hamm - multiples of a vector  blueArrow
9/12/2006; 12:05:54 PM (reads: 268, responses: 3)
Hi, all,

I am trying to write problems where students have to enter three answers (three separate ans_rules, let's say, although I don't really care about that), and WW should check whether they are correct up to multiplication by a constant (the *same* constant for all three).

E.g.: If the correct answers are t, 3-t, 2t, and the student enters -2t, 2t-6, -4t, he should be marked correct, but not if he enters t, 3-t, 4t.

Does anyone know a way to do this?

Thanks,

Michael Hamm

<| Post or View Comments |>

userGavin LaRose - Re: multiples of a vector  blueArrow
9/13/2006; 8:06:41 AM (reads: 316, responses: 1)
Hi Michael,

I'm no expert on the Parser, but if you're entering a vector Davide's Parser does this very elegantly. I think the following code should work.

loadMacros( "Parser.pl" );
Context('Vector')->variables->are('t');
$solnVec = Vector( "t", "3-t", "2t" );
Context()->texStrings;
BEGIN_TEXT
Enter a vector parallel to \($solnVec\): \{ ans_rule(25) \}
END_TEXT
Context()->normalStrings;
ANS( $solnVec->cmp(parallel=>1) );

Gavin

[update: 9/13, 2pm]: The context line might have to be

Context('Vector')->variables->are('t'=>'Real');

userDavide P. Cervone - Re: multiples of a vector  blueArrow
9/13/2006; 3:07:26 PM (reads: 368, responses: 0)
Gavin: