Installation

Apache won't start after upgrade

Apache won't start after upgrade

by Andrew Bayliss -
Number of replies: 10
I recently tried to upgrade my webwork installation from 2.5.0 to 2.5.1.3 on one of my school's ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS servers.

Admittedly, I am very new at ubuntu and administering a server. I was trying to follow the directions for upgrading on the wiki, as well as making changes to site.conf which are referenced when upgrading to 2.5.1. Anyways after following the directions, I tried to restart apache and received the following error.

"(in cleanup) Could not evaluate global environment file /opt/webwork/webwork2/conf/defaults.config: Failed to read include file /opt/webwork/webwork2/PG_VERSION (has it been created from the corresponding .dist file?): Bad file descriptor at (eval 30) line 12.

at /etc/apache2/conf.d/webwork.conf line 69.

Syntax error on line 45 of /etc/apache2/conf.d/webwork.conf:

Failed to read include file /opt/webwork/webwork2/PG_VERSION (has it been created from the corresponding .dist file?): Bad file descriptor at (eval 30) line 12.\n\t(in cleanup) Could not evaluate global environment file /opt/webwork/webwork2/conf/defaults.config: Failed to read include file /opt/webwork/webwork2/PG_VERSION (has it been created from the corresponding .dist file?): Bad file descriptor at (eval 30) line 12.\n at /etc/apache2/conf.d/webwork.conf line 69."

I was able to restore my former installation. However, I was really interested in some of the new features. If anyone could provide a little help, I would greatly appreciate it.

Andrew
In reply to Andrew Bayliss

Re: Apache won't start after upgrade

by Jason Aubrey -
Hi Andrew,

Did you also update pg? There should be a file in /opt/webwork/pg called "VERSION". If that file is there, then there should be a symlink in /opt/webwork/webwork2 called PG_VERSION. There are four ways this could get messed up, but my guess is that you're in case (1) or (2) below.