WeBWorK Problems

Problem Authoring - setting up shop - help

Problem Authoring - setting up shop - help

by Paul Hermans -
Number of replies: 5
Hi,
I am brand new to WebWork, and planning on creating a bunch of problems.
i have read the various tutorials etc, but could use guidance on a few other things related to this:

1) While I can edit my .pl file online, it is "awkward" to do so. Is there a better setup so that I can use a proper IDE and maybe even debug?

2) Is it realistic to use an FTP client to upload file(s) to webwork server to create problems, or do I have to "upload" them using the webpage?

3) How do I debug a problem instead of using Trial/Error method?

Thanks for any tips you can provide.

Paul
In reply to Paul Hermans

Re: Problem Authoring - setting up shop - help

by Alex Jordan -
For 1) and 2), are you working on your own institution's WeBWorK server? If so, and if you have permissions to access it server side, then there are options. But if you are using say the MAA hosting service, I'm not sure what more you can do.

For 3), I have a few answers, but not much time at the moment. I'll try to return for that.
In reply to Alex Jordan

by Paul Hermans -
Thanks Alex,

For 1 and 2 I am working on my institution's WebWork server.....don't currently have access directly, but can probably get it ( just have to tell IT what I need).

No rush, I appreciate the help!

Paul
In reply to Paul Hermans

by Alex Jordan -
OK, then for 1) and 2) you need IT to give you an account where you can log in to the server using FTP that has access to /opt/webwork/courses/name-of-your-course/. If you are at all nervous about having that access and accidentally mucking something up, having access only to /opt/webwork/courses/name-of-your-course/templates/ would be a little safer.