WeBWorK Main Forum

Authoring a survey in WeBWorK?

Authoring a survey in WeBWorK?

by Alasdair McAndrew -
Number of replies: 5
Hello,

Although I've been using WW with my students for many years, I have never authored any problems. But I would like to survey my students, using WW itself. Are there examples of multiple choice, and multiple select, survey questions? Thank you very much,

Alasdair

ww_version: 2.11 | pg_version: 2.11, under Ubuntu Server 14.04.
In reply to Alasdair McAndrew

Re: Authoring a survey in WeBWorK?

by Gavin LaRose -
Hi Alasdair,

Most of these are described in the problem authoring section of the WeBWorK wiki, http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/Authors:
  1. multiple choice problems: http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/MultipleChoiceProblems
  2. multiple select problems: http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/MultipleSelectProblems
  3. essay questions (may be what you need for surveys): http://webwork.maa.org/wiki/EssayAnswer1
Gavin
In reply to Gavin LaRose

by Alasdair McAndrew -
Thank you very much. The problem with the multiple choice problems is that one answer must be listed as being correct, which in a survey is irrelevant. What I need is some way for students to enter one of possibly five options (assuming a Likert-type scale), but all options are, in a sense, equally "correct".

The multiple select problem allows me to list all options as being correct, but this again is not useful if I want students to pick only one option.

Thank you again,
Alasdair
In reply to Alasdair McAndrew

by Michael Gage -
And here is an example

These questionnaires were hacked together quickly at the dawn of WeBWorK history. A macro file or a template that makes it easier to construct questionnaires would probably be welcomed by many.

In reply to Michael Gage

by Raghu Gompa -

I used to use Questionnaires to receive feed back from students.  For example,

Dear student,