WeBWorK Problems

"Compute" not behaving as expected

"Compute" not behaving as expected

by Christopher Turner -
Number of replies: 1
I am new to authoring problems, so forgive me if this has already been covered (though I did search) or if I am making a silly mistake.

My understanding of the Compute( ) function is that it will automatically determine the appropriate MathObject, be it Real, Complex, Formula, etc.

It works fine for me for numbers. However, when I attempt to use it for a Formula, I get the error below. It seems to require that I provide a value for the variable as a second parameter. (Notice that no error is detected on line 21 (Formula) or line 22 (addtional argument to Compute).

As a result, I am forced to use Formula( ), but this is a poor work-around for displaying a formulaic answer to students when the formula expression contains non-terminating decimals.

Am I doing something incorrectly? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Christopher
--------------------------------
Error messages

No value given for variable 'x'; see position 1 of formula at line 34 of [PG]/macros/Parser.pl Died within main::Compute called at line 23 of [TMPL]/tmpEdit/LCX/Algebra/rationalizingCubes.pg.professor.tmp

Error details

Problem13
ERROR caught by Translator while processing problem file:tmpEdit/LCX/Algebra/rationalizingCubes.pg.professor.tmp
No value given for variable 'x'; see position 1 of formula at line 34 of [PG]/macros/Parser.pl
Died within main::Compute called at line 23 of [TMPL]/tmpEdit/LCX/Algebra/rationalizingCubes.pg.professor.tmp

------Input Read
1 #DESCRIPTION
2 ## Algebra problem: simplifying fraction using conjugation
3 ## Rationalize the numerator
4 ##ENDDESCRIPTION
6 ##KEYWORDS('algebra', 'powers')
8 DOCUMENT(); # This should be the first executable line in the problem.
10 loadMacros(
11 "PG.pl",
12 "PGbasicmacros.pl",
13 "PGchoicemacros.pl",
14 "PGanswermacros.pl",
15 "PGauxiliaryFunctions.pl",
16 "MathObjects.pl",
17 "Parser.pl"