Features & Development

Do we still need separate pdf output or can we print adequate hardcopy from HTML?

Do we still need separate pdf output or can we print adequate hardcopy from HTML?

by Michael Gage -
Number of replies: 14

I wanted to move this conversation about pdf output from private email into a group discussion. -- Mike

On Jul 14, 2020, at 10:50 PM, Paul Pearson <pearsonp@hope.edu> wrote:

Hi all,

For accessibility reasons, would you consider dropping pdf hardcopy rendering or finding a way to generate accessible pdfs?  If pdf hardcopy is dropped, it could be replaced by an option to render all problems in a homework set on a single html page (which could then be printed to a pdf file or to paper).  If pdf hardcopy were dropped, it would make some aspects of problem authoring easier (specifically, interactive html features could be used without needing to come up with a way to mirror them in pdf mode).  I'm not an accessibility expert, so please speak up if there's something better or if my approach is wrong.  Also, I don't know how pretext fits into this.

Best regards,
Paul Pearson
-----------------------

Hi Paul,

I think I’ll move this conversation to the forums if that is ok so we can get more input.  Historically the pdf output was there because HTML representation was problematic, to say the least.  MathJax has solved that problem so  I agree it is worth rethinking 
what output options we make available.  As an interim measure I’d suggest experimenting with providing easy production of hardcopy from html along the lines you suggest.  I think one could do this while leaving the pdf output channel in place.  If the hardcopy production from html is adequate then we can faze out the pdf channel.

Comments?

Take care,
Mike

In reply to Michael Gage

Re: Do we still need separate pdf output or can we print adequate hardcopy from HTML?

by Michael Gage -
Hi Mike,