WeBWorK Main Forum

Trying to create ClassList file for students - Passwords Not Crypting

Trying to create ClassList file for students - Passwords Not Crypting

by Gary Hotko -
Number of replies: 13

Good Morning - 

I am trying to create a student file to upload into our WeBWorK 2.17. I ran the crypt_passwords_in_classlist.pl script from the wiki/GitHub on my lst file. When I opened the crypted_ prefixed file in a text editor, I noticed that the passwords that I specified remained the same in plain text.  

I am not sure what is going on. (I am new to WeBWork) and how to fix it. 

We have Strawberry Perl running on our desktops.

This is perl 5, version 32, subversion 1 (v5.32.1) built for MSWin32-x64-multi-thread
Copyright 1987-2021, Larry Wall
Perl may be copied only under the terms of either the Artistic License or the GNU General Public License, which may be found in the Perl 5 source kit. 
Complete documentation for Perl, including FAQ lists, should be found on this system using "man perl" or "perldoc perl".  If you have access to the Internet, point your browser at http://www.perl.org/, the Perl Home Page.

Here is what I ran and the output that I received. I am attaching the Demo_Class_List2.lst file and the resulting crypted_Demo_Class_List2.lst file as a ZIP file 

C:\Users\ghotko\Desktop>perl crypt_passwords_in_classlist.pl Demo_Class_List2.lst

Output is in the file crypted_Demo_Class_List2.lst

In reply to Gary Hotko

Re: Trying to create ClassList file for students - Passwords Not Crypting

by Glenn Rice -
Your classlist file has the wrong number of columns. The fields that the file should have are

student_id, last_name, first_name, status, comment, section, recitation, email_address, user_id, password, permission

You are missing one of the fields between status and email_address. Just add another comma in there.
In reply to Glenn Rice

by Gary Hotko -
Hi Glenn - Thank you