OPL Maintenance

Running OPL-update gives permission denied error

Running OPL-update gives permission denied error

by Harshal Patel -
Number of replies: 9

Hello,

I'm new to Webwork and I'm in the process of installing Webwork 2.17 on a RHEL8 distribution. I cloned the OPL repository, when I try to run the OPL-update command (or /opt/webwork/webwork2/bin/OPL-update) as wwadmin user, it shows the following error:

Downloading the latest OPL release.
Execution of /opt/webwork/webwork2/bin/download-OPL-metadata-release.pl failed:
Error in tempdir() using /opt/webwork/webwork2/bin/FileFetch.XXXXXX: Could not create directory /opt/webwork/webwork2/bin/FileFetch.Igl0eE: Permission denied at /usr/share/perl5/vendor_perl/File/Fetch.pm line 459.

"/opt/webwork/libraries" folder is owned by wwadmin user and group. Within the libraries folder, "webwork-open-problem-library" folder is owned by root user and group. Here's what I have tried so far:

• Tried changing owner of libraries folder from wwadmin to root and tried running OPL-update as root user. It does not start the installation.
  • Tried changing owner of "webwork-open-problem-library" folder from root to wwadmin and tried running OPL-update as wwadmin user. It still shows me the same error.

Please let me know how can I fix this issue.

Thank you!

In reply to Harshal Patel

Re: Running OPL-update gives permission denied error

by Glenn Rice -

The folder that you are getting the error from is the /opt/webwork/webwork2/bin folder.  Check that your user has write permissions for that folder.

In reply to Glenn Rice

by Harshal Patel -
Hi Glenn,

Thank you for the tip. I allowed wwadmin user to have write permissions to the bin folder (and everything beneath). Now when I ran the OPL-update command again, I received a different error:

Found OPL METADATA release v2023-04-30.
Downloaded release archive, now extracting.
/bin/tar: webwork-open-problem-library/JSON-SAVED: Cannot utime: Operation not permitted